A New Year, A New Resolve

happy-new-yearThe year is going by unbelievably fast. We are almost through February. Seriously. Where did all the time go? This year I went a little overboard with my resolutions list. I sat down in December and listed everything I wanted to accomplish—huge endeavors like “become fluent in Arabic and French” and “finalize my website and online portfolio” as well as smaller, more manageable goals such as “drink more water each day” and “write more blog entries” (clearly I’m losing on that front). One of my top priorities (out of a two-page list) is to finish my master’s degree. During the course of the last 14 months of the program I have contemplated giving up numerous times. Horrible scheduling, live classes at 4:00 a.m., inexperienced instructors, and extremely difficult curriculum have nearly broken my resolve to get a second master’s in something I really need to become an expert in: mass communications with a specialization in web design and online communications.

University-of-Florida-College-of-Journalism-and-CommunicationsYet, I’ve somehow managed to get through the last 3.5 semesters in one piece and learn a few things along the way, so I’m going to stick through it until the end. At this point in this online master’s program, which is offered by University of Florida’s College of Journalism and Communications, I am studying advanced web topics such as web semantics, APIs, JavaScript, and JQuery as well as WordPress and PHP. Let me tell you, it is not easy to keep pace with these classes, given the level of difficulty and time it takes for any of the material to sink in (I often watch live classes and then rewatch the recordings just to be sure it sunk in). Not only that, but I’m juggling a demanding job as an editor for a global consulting firm that sets the standard very high. Ultimately, I’m just trying to keep my head above water these days. Nonetheless, while I don’t know how I’m going to do it, I am determined to make it to December 2013 and finish off the year with most of my resolutions checked off and another master’s degree under my belt that will unlock many doors of opportunities within the wondrous world wide web and ever-evolving field of communications.

One thought on “A New Year, A New Resolve

  1. I think you’re doing fantastic with your resolutions.. We’re in May already and I think it’s time for you to check that list again and see how much incredible progress you made. Proud of you. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

